Lear

Hughes in Shakespeare And The Goddess of Complete Being calls King Lear : a triple Tragic Equation and the plot and sub-plot in the play.  Hughes has the idea that Shakespeare’s plays have an equation and go back to Venus and Adonis and they all build onto each other to fulfill the equation.  Thus, I think that’s what Hughes is getting at.  King Lear has the Tragic Equation and the theme of the Rival Brothers.  Hughes says, “Lear goes through the ‘double vision’ and rejection and madness not once, but three times.”

Lear gives his daughters the love and goes into it thinking that they’re one big happy family and that they all love each other.  But, like Sexon says, two of the sisters are real bitches and have sinister intentions.  Hughes calls the three women,” the Goddess who incorporates, in some form still hidden from him, the Queen of Hell, but who mainly embodies the love on which his sanity depends.”  Cordelia loses because she says the word “nothing” and by her bond and is banished.  Lear thinks that Cordelia doesn’t love her and banishes her.  He thinks he still has two daughters and that’s all he needs for the retirement he craves.  Goneril then shows her true self and Lear seems mad,”Hear, Nature, hear, dear Goddess, hear… Degenerate bastard (Bitch)! I’ll not trouble thee: Yet have I left a daughter.”

Regan then does the same and Lear goes off the deep end and the madness kicks in,”I will have such revenges on you both-That all the world shall-I will do such things-What they are yet I know not.”  I may have underestimated King Lear.  Hamlet talked about death and seemed to know that it was only a matter of time, but the interim was his.  Lear went off into the wilderness to live and resist the Boar’s attack.

My Grandma is 84 and everyone in the family coddles her and treats her like an invalid child.  I like to harass her a little and talk to her like I talk to anyone else minus the F-Bombs and she appreciates it.  She recently told me if I quit messing around with French and English and started taking Business classes that she would help me out with tuition.  Over spring break I told her that business classes would be a waste of money and if I keep reading Shakespeare I’ll learn about money.  She just laughed and shook her head when I told her that I dropped Honors Econ.  At the end of the day, at least I’ll have my honor.

Leave a comment