Turner

I’m glad my maiden poem recitation was brilliant.  I brought my aunt Ann with me who has a PHD in Literature and has had a large impact on my studies.  The poems were incredible and I admired Turner’s quick witticism when he was asked that bizarre question on being a reactionary person outside of poetry.

I went to the Einstein event last night at the Emerson.  It was pretty damn good and they combined dance, music, and film in describing Eisenstein’s theory of relativity.  They had a world re-known physicist and asked him a series of questions.  Two of them jumped out at me: What is time? and How does nothing come from nothing? Time is measured by clocks and physics today is working on what is time.  Ok, weak answer.  Nothing from nothing is the big bang theory which was possibly preceded by some crunch theory before.  I was thinking after those responses that they maybe should have had Turner there.

To be fair, they did have a lot of different disciplines there working together to bring science to the public.  In my humble opinion, the sciences have a long ways to go in communicating science to the non-scientist.

Leave a comment