Need versus Want

When talking about needs in class on Friday, this got me thinking about the need versus want.  I used to pretty much equate the two as the same thing.  A few years ago when I read Sometimes a Great Notion by Ken Kasey, which I think is one of if not the best American novel.  Anyways, after getting past the superficial aspect of thinking about wants and needs, I think this book draws it out best.  In a relationship, job, or school, sure you could do what you “need” to do to get a job and be another sheep in the flock.  I’d wager that we’ve all heard someone say,”I need you.”  When I think about that though it seems half-hearted at best and lacking much.  When I want to be with someone, for me at least has substance and cause for a pause.  In the end though, we don’t need anything but water and sex to keep the species going.  In the meantime, might have to prioritize the wants and define the needs.

Leave a comment